Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



 $(Incorporated\ in\ Bermuda\ with\ limited\ liability)$

(Stock Code: 559)

RESIGNATION OF INDEPENDENT NON-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND CHANGE IN COMPOSITION OF BOARD COMMITTEES

The board (the "Board") of directors (the "Directors") of DeTai New Energy Group Limited (the "Company") hereby announces that Dr. Wong Yun Kuen ("Dr. Wong"), has resigned as an independent non-executive Director and ceased to be a member of each of the audit committee of the Company (the "Audit Committee"), the remuneration committee of the Company and the nomination committee of the Company with effect from 23 December 2020 due to his personal matter which requires more of his attention and dedication which he cannot devote sufficient time to the Company.

Dr. Wong has confirmed that he had no disagreement with the Board and there was no matter in relation to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company or The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Stock Exchange"). The Board would like to express its sincere gratitude to Dr. Wong for his invaluable contribution to the Company during his tenure of office.

Following the resignation of Dr. Wong, the Company has (i) two independent non-executive Directors, which is below the minimum requirement under Rule 3.10(1) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange (the "Listing Rules"); and (ii) two Audit Committee members, which is below the minimum of three members requirement under Rule 3.21 of the Listing Rules.

The Company is endeavoring to identify a suitable candidate to fill the vacancy within three months to meet the relevant requirements of the Listing Rules and will make further announcement(s) as and when appropriate.

By order of the Board

DeTai New Energy Group Limited

Wong Hin Shek

Chairman and Executive Director

Hong Kong, 23 December 2020

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors are Mr. Wong Hin Shek, Mr. Chan Wai Ki and Mr. Eric Todd; and the independent non-executive Directors are Mr. Chiu Wai On and Mr. Man Kwok Leung.